New Jersey mandates an arrest for driving under the influence when a driver is behind the wheel with a blood alcohol content above 0.08%. DUI laws also apply to drivers who have taken narcotics, hallucinogens, or other illegal or prescription drugs. 

Familiarize yourself with the state penalties for DUI before facing a court date for this offense in New Jersey. 

First offense 

If you have no DUI history, you could receive: 

  • 12 hours of mandatory DUI education over two days 
  • $3,000 surcharge on your auto insurance premium over three years 
  • Approximately $425 in administrative fees (in addition to other fines) 
  • License suspension for three months 
  • Fine of $250 to $400 
  • Up to 30 days in jail 

Penalties increase for drivers with a BAC of more than 0.10% or drivers under the influence of drugs when arrested. These offenders can receive $300 up to $500 in fines and extended license suspension for seven to 12 months. The law requires the installation of an ignition interlock device for a year after the license suspension if the driver had a BAC above 0.15%. 

Second offense 

For a second DUI in New Jersey, penalties may include: 

  • $3,000 surcharge on your auto insurance premium over three years 
  • Approximately $425 in administrative fees (in addition to other fines) 
  • License suspension for one to two years 
  • Fine of $500 to $1,000 
  • At least 48 hours and up to 90 days in jail 
  • Substance abuse evaluation and treatment, if necessary 
  • Required ignition interlock device for two to four years after serving license suspension 

Additional penalties 

If you refuse a breath test in New Jersey, you can receive an additional fine of up to $500 for the first offense and up to $1,000 for the second offense. Drivers who have any measured BAC and are younger than 21 must complete 15 to 30 days of community service and will lose driving privileges for 30 to 90 days.